USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

 Find the latest Coronavirus-related transportation statistics on the BTS COVID-19 landing page.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Federal Exhaust Emission Certification Standards for Newly Manufactured Gasoline- and Diesel-Powered Light-Duty Trucks (Category LDT3)a,b,c (Grams per mile)

Embedded Dataset Excel:


KEY: ALVW=adjusted loaded vehicle weight; CO = carbon monoxide; GVWR=gross vehicle weight rating; HC = hydrocarbons; NMHC=nonmethane hydrocarbon; NMOG=nonmethane organic gases; NOx=nitrogen oxides. 

a Light-duty truck categories LDT1-LDT4 were not created until 1994.  From 1968 to 1978 all trucks with a GVWR up to 6,000 pounds were classified as light-duty trucks and were required to meet the same standards.  As of 1979, the maximum weight was raised to 8,500 pounds GVWR.  During 1988-93, light-duty trucks were divided into two subcategories that coincide with the current LDT1-LDT4 categories.  The standards for LDT1, LDT2, and LDT4 are given in tables 4-31, 4-32, and 4-34.

b The test procedure for measuring exhaust emissions has changed several times over the course of vehicle emissions regulation.  The 7-mode procedure was used through model year 1971 and was replaced by the CVS-72 procedure beginning in model year 1972.  The CVS-75 procedure  became the test procedure as of model year 1975.  While it may appear that the total HC and CO standards were relaxed in 1972-74, these standards were actually more stringent due to the more stringent nature of the CVS-72 test procedure. Additional standards for CO and composite standards for NMHC and NOx tested over the new Supplemental Federal Test Procedure will be phased-in beginning with model year 2002. These standards are not shown in this table. 

c Emissions standards had to be met for a full useful life of 5 years/50,000 miles through model year 1983, and a full useful life of 11 years/120,000 miles was defined for 1985-93 (several useful life options were available for 1984).  Beginning in model year 1996, emissions standards were established for an intermediate useful life of 5 years/50,000 miles as well as a full useful life of 11 years/120,000 miles (intermediate and full useful life standards are shown in parentheses).  This applied to all pollutants except HC and particulates for all LDT3 vehicles and NOx for diesel-powered LDT3 vehicles, which were only required to meet full useful life standards.  Tier 1 exhaust standards were phased-in during 1996-97 at a rate of 50% and 100%, respectively. 

d The cold CO emissions standard is measured at 20 0F (rather than 75 0F) and is applicable for a 5-year/50,000-mile useful life.

e GVWR is the maximum design loaded weight.  ALVW is the numerical average of the GVWR and the curb weight.

f Manufacturers can opt to certify vehicles for a full useful life of 15 years/150,000 miles and either have (1) intermediate useful life standards waived or (2) receive additional NOx credits.

g The "Prior to controls" column reports emissions estimates of a typical newly manufactured car in the years before exhaust emissions certifcation standards were implemented.

h No estimate available.

i In 1968-69, exhaust emissions standards were issued in parts per million rather than grams per mile and are, therefore, incompatible with this table.

j No standard has been set.

k The term "tier" refers to a level of standards for specific years.  Interim 2 refers to an intermediate level of standards that moves manufacturers toward compliance with Tier 2 standards.  Interim Tier 2 and Tier 2 standards are established as "bins." Each bin is a set of standards for NOx, CO, NMOG, formaldehyde, and particulates (HC and NMHC standards are dropped for Tier 2 and Interim Tier 2). Manufacturers may certify any given vehicle family to any of the bins available for that vehicle class as long as the resulting sales-weighted corporate average NOx standard is met for full useful life. The Tier 2 corporate average NOx standard is 0.07 grams/mile. Interim corporate-based average NOx standards are based on vehicle type. The interim corporate sales-weighted average for LDT3 vehicles is 0.6 grams/mile. Tier 2 LDT3 standards will be phased in during 2008 and 2009. In 2008, 50% of LDT3 vehicles must meet Tier 2 standards; the others must meet Interim Tier 2 standards. Beginning in 2009, all LDT3 vehicles must meet Tier 2 standards. 


40 CFR 86, Subpart A (July 1, 2000).

Federal Register, Vol. 65, No. 28, pp. 6851-6858.