USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

ACTS November 5, 2014 - Agenda

Friday, December 8, 2017

Advisory Council on Transportation Statistics
Wednesday, November 5 2014
Assistant Secretary’s Conference Room E37-302
US Department of Transportation
Washington, DC 20590

Call-in number: 877-336-1274, Passcode: 5759713
Web URL: is external)

8:30 – 8:45 AM          Introductions and Outline of this Meeting
Michael Walton, ACTS Chairman

8:45 – 9:15 AM          Review of Action Items from Last Meeting
Rolf Schmitt, Deputy Director, Bureau of Transportation Statistics

9:15 – 10:00 AM        Update on Integration
Ellen Partridge, Deputy Assistant Secretary
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Research & Technology

10:00 – 10:15  AM     Break

10:15 – 11:00 AM      SWOT Discussion
Pat Hu, Director, Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Rolf Schmitt, Deputy Director, Bureau of Transportation Statistics

11:00 – 11:45 PM      Stakeholder Interactions
Steve Pierson, American Statistical Association
Michael Walton, ACTS Chairman
12:00 – 1:15 PM        Lunch

1:15 – 2:15 PM          Preserving and Accessing Information: BTS Role
Amanda Wilson, Bureau of Transportation Statistics

2:15 – 2:45 PM          Major Initiatives: Restoration of the Vehicle Inventory & Use Survey
Joy Sharp, Bureau of Transportation Statistics                

2:45 – 4:00 PM          Discussion of Research Priorities

  • Hybrid Data Collection Approaches
  • Valuing Transportation System

4:00 – 4:30 PM          Public Comments and Wrap-Up
Michael Walton, ACTS Chairman